The Big Picture

How many times have you been told that you just don’t see the big picture?  And it usually happens when you are passionate about a particular aspect of a project, and when the boss shoots you down, he explains that you just don’t see the big picture.  I’m struggling a bit by being on both sides of that view.  Sometimes, my small corner of the world really seems to be the only thing that matters – yet I find myself more and more recognizing that there is a bigger picture, and sometimes even trying to convince others that the big picture is bigger and more important. (Apparently, I’m not very good at seeing the big picture; right now I fail to understand why the insurance company will only pay for four days worth of antibiotic, when the doctor prescribed five days, but after the fourth day I can still go back to the pharmacy and get the fifth pill; I’m missing the big picture, apparently).

In John 16:16-18  Jesus explains what is about to happen, and the apostles just don’t see the big picture. 

“In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me.”  Some of his disciples said to one another, “What does he mean by saying, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me,’ and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?”  They kept asking, “What does he mean by ‘a little while’? We don’t understand what he is saying.”

Ephesians 4:11 tells us that everyone has a part, but no one has all the parts. 

It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers

Each one does his part.  Guillermo Londono gave someone a Bible, because he sees the big picture.  He knew he was just planting a seed, and what that seed could do (and it did).  He didn’t expect that he had to be the one to water and tend the growing of that seed. 

Lord, help me to see past my little corner, beyond my meager abilities, and recognize your greater purposes and abilities – to recognize Your Big Picture.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

