Reconnecting

Today, I had a surprise opportunity to reconnect with an old friend.  Marv Van de Weert and I worked together for a few years in the early 90’s.  He still lives in Colorado, and happened to be flying to New Orleans today.  Since I was in Mobile, and he was driving over to Pensacola (with his wife Sharon, to stay a couple of weeks with her sister), we met for dinner in Mobile.

I suppose one of the ways you can tell a real friend is when you meet after not seeing each other for a long time, and you just pick up where you left off – like you saw each other yesterday.  A fantastic, unexpected treat.  And a nice reminder that a “loner” like me still needs to maintain a few connections.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

