Hating Spring

I’ve been dreading the onslaught of blooming flowers and growing grass. Well, actually, I’ve been dreading the beginning of mowing season. So much that I’ve begun to hate the thought of springtime.

A couple of days ago, I had to walk a few blocks between buildings at work and I really enjoyed the feel and smell of spring in the air. But still, the thought of having to start mowing grass was overpowering (partly because I know once I start, I’ll be mowing grass until November). Today was the day. The weeds were taking over, it’s supposed to rain all weekend, so I really had to get it done today. The good news is that it was overcast and a bit cool.

The really good news is that the smell of fresh cut grass, and the look of a new mown lawn are wonderful. And when you mow over one of the lemons off the tree in the backyard, it’s like spraying the entire yard with lemon fragrance – REAL lemon. While I was mowing and enjoying the smells and spring air, it dawned on me that hatred is really a powerful thing. My hatred for starting the mowing season has really overshadowed my enjoyment of all the beauties of spring.

Hmmm….what must it be like to live with hatred in your heart, and miss out on the beauty of life. I hope I never know.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

