The Long Week (continued)

A few weeks ago Alyssa had her appendix removed, after a long week of back-and-forth banter between doctors and trips to various doctor’s offices and emergency rooms.  I thought that was a long week.  I’m hoping it will stop soon.

(Disclaimer: in the scheme of life, my problems over the last month have been minor, and I know that.  It’s still frustrating, tiring, and challenging – even when the challenges are relatively small and minor).

About the time Alyssa finished the appendicitis routine, Mikayla started a coughing routine that has become almost normal.  She has an acid reflux issue that can cause her airway to get irritated and start a coughing spell.  Last time (January, I think), it lasted a couple of weeks, and involved a trip to the urgent care office and two trips to the emergency room.  This time we’ve avoided the emergency room, but we’ve been to the urgent care office three times (because they are open when the doctor isn’t, and will see you without an appointment).  Friday I bounced around on the phone between the insurance company and the doctor’s office trying to get a prescription approved (no luck; just paid for it out of pocket at the pharmacy).  Today promises to be another frustration of trying to get an appointment with the pulmonologist to get started on a series of tests to see if this is true asthma.

Oh – did I mention that Cody moved out this weekend?  He got an apartment near LSU a couple of weeks ago, and Saturday was moving day.  And of course, I had to start it off with a sarcastic comment that just made the whole experience painful and dreadful for everyone (why do I do that?  Why can’t I just keep my mouth shut and ignore the things that frustrate me?).  On a positive note, he seems to be happy with the apartment, and was back and forth Sunday picking up a few more things.  It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes for him to need Mom’s cooking. 

Today I will decide if I’m going to Pepperdine for the Bible Lectures in May.  I want to go.  I don’t want to spend the money.  I need to go.  Last time I went was 3 or 4 years ago, and I’m still motivated by what I learned that week.  In fact, now that I think of it, that week tends to make all the other weeks just a teeny bit more bearable.

Hmmm….

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

