Unlikely Hero

Every time someone asks who my hero is, I’m at a loss for a spectacular answer.  Of course, my Dad is a great man.  Loyal, dedicated, hard-working, sticking to his values (even if he couldn’t name them, he lives them).  Jesus is at the top of any list and is so obvious as to be overlooked.

Ananias is a great example of courage and loyalty.  God tells him to talk to Saul, who is persecuting Christians, and after a short protest, he goes.  He stares his persecution in the face and does what God told him to.  (Acts 9:1-19).

Today, I’ve found a new hero.  And a very unlikely one at that.  We think of heros as courageous people, who did something great, stuck to their values when it wasn’t easy, or showed us how to be humble.  But today, my mind is someone who did nothing.  Absolutely nothing.

Mephibosheth was a grandson of Saul (2 Samuel 4:4), who was lame from a childhood incident.  He’s not mentioned again until sometime later, when he is found to be living with someone else (2 Samuel 9:4), presumably so they can take care of him.  King David called for Mephibosheth to come to him.  And David told him “I will surely show kindness to you for the sake of your father Jonathan, and restore to you all the land of your grandfather Saul, and you shall eat at my table regularly.”  Mephibosheth asked David why he would be so gracious to a “dead dog like me.” (2 Samuel 9:7-8)

In this story, I see myself – a lame, worthless individual, good for nothing more than a dead dog, unable to take care of myself.  And despite that, God has reached out to me – not because of anything I have done, or can do, but because He loves me and wants me in His family, and He has blessed me to eat at His table, and has given me all the lands He has to give.  And all I can do is say a feeble “thank you” and bask in His glory and grace.

God is good.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

One response to “Unlikely Hero

Leave a Reply

