History Lesson

On my way to the Pepperdine Bible Lectures, I had to change planes in Houston.  While waiting in the airport, I stopped in a book store to see what interesting book I could find to pass the time.  I found a copy of “A Tale of Two Cities” for $5.00.  I’d never read it, and it was the cheapest thing they had.  How can you pass that up?

When I got on the plane, the guy sitting next to me noticed the book and said “That’s a great book.”  I told him I bought it because it was cheap and I’d never read it.  Then he said he loved it, but also admitted he was a history teacher.  Then he got out his book and started reading – 1 Samuel.  I commented that I’d also been reading the Bible, but was reading 2 Samuel, but that I was having trouble understanding the point of the book.  I mean, it was just battle after battle in a struggle for who would be king of Israel.  There was that bit about Mephibosheth, and the infamous story of David and Bathsheba, but otherwise just a long, protracted war.  The History Teacher in the next seat said “Yeah, but it’s history.  We can always learn from that.”

Well of course, what else would a history teacher say?    I plugged along, and by the end of the week reached the end of the book (2 Samuel, that is.  Still working through A Tale of Two Cities).  And here’s my history lesson: I might not face a continuous string of physical enemies trying to overthrow my kingdom, but I do face daily temptations and struggles that try to tear down my faith.  And in the end, just like David, God is there to lift me up and bless me – He is my Rock. 

Oh, and one other thing – everytime someone killed one of David’s enemies, he wept before God; he was always distraught over the death of another of God’s creation, even if it was someone who wanted to kill him.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

One response to “History Lesson

  • nick gill

    That’s a brilliant point about David. Only when he murders Uriah does he rejoice in the death of an enemy.

Leave a Reply

