Measuring Time

If it’s true that time flies when you’re having fun, I must be having a blast.  In the Spring Rush, I was out of the office six weeks out of eight in April and May, and going for another this week.  Took Alyssa to camp this afternoon, finished painting Mikayla’s room last week, spent all day Friday running errands, all day Saturday buying and setting up new beds, looking at used cars (for Alyssa), haven’t even started on a paper that was assigned two weeks ago, and I can’t remember what else.  The more I do, it seems the more I have that needs to be done.  Time is slipping away.

In our Sunday morning class, we’ve been discussing Genesis and the creation.  Today we talked about the seventh day, and why God rested.  There was lots of interesting discussion around this point, and I had to throw in my two cents worth (which I’ll share with you here – you can keep the change).

Romans 1:20 says that “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.”  One of the evidences of God’s creation, which we can clearly see throughout the creation, is the seven day week.  Every other measure of time we use – hours, days, months, years – depend on the movement of the solar system.  The seven-day week has no natural markers – the only reason we observe it is because God gave us six days to work and a day to rest (Exodus 20:8-11).  Not only did God create the week, it is observed throughout the world, in every culture (well, the ones that keep time, anyway). 

I mentioned in an earlier post that one of the speakers at the Pepperdine Bible Lectures spoke on the need for sabbath rest.  God gave us a day of rest for a reason, commanded that we observe it (Exodus 20:8-11), and for some reason we have decided we didn’t need it any longer.  Jesus left hurting people so he could spend time alone with God and rest.  We are made for sabbath – and it will do well for us to observe it – both as rest and recognition of His creation, His wisdom, and His holiness. 

So, since coming back from Pepperdine, I’ve been trying to figure out when to take this sabbath day of rest.  Like I said, the more I whittle away on my “to-do list,” the bigger it seems to get.  And in the last couple of days I’ve realized that I’ve spent a lot of years ignoring this command, and built a life around ignoring it (meaning I’ve set myself up to be this busy), and maybe I can’t just jump in with both feet and make it happen.  So we’re taking the slow approach – I’ll be setting aside an evening during the week to spend time with God.  But I’ll have to start later this week – gotta go to Mobile tomorrow, class on Tuesday and Thursday…the “to-do list” is relentless, but God’s got my back on this one…

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

