First Love

Jesus told the church at Ephesus (Revelation 2:1-7) that the only issue He had with them was that they had left their first love.  But He didn’t tell us what that meant.  Supposedly the Ephesians knew what He was talking about.

Reading the preceding verses, it’s hard to imagine what they were missing.  The were some pretty active church folk, as we might say today.  They were hard workers, did not tolerate evil, tested people who claimed to be apostles, and hung in there through a lot of struggles without growing weary and giving up.  Isn’t that a pretty glowing list of accomplishments?  So what else do you want?

I don’t know about the Ephesians, but as I meditated over this passage this past week, I know what it means to me.  You might get the idea that I meditate over scripture often.  But I don’t.  I’m a busy guy, doing a fair amount of church work, and a fair amount of other things (school, family, work).  About the only time I really sit down and meditate over scripture is when I’m on the road, and there isn’t much else to do in a hotel room.  And I’m about to get busy with my capstone project (one more semester of classes, and this capstone project and I’ll be finished with school).

Not only will that project consume a lot of time, but I know there are a number of time nibblers I need to turn away from in order to get back to my first love – reading and meditating over scripture, and walking daily with my Lord.

So, I’m taking a break from this blog for a bit – not closing down the site, but it may be a while before I’m back.  I’ll send an email to the people I know are reading, and maybe post on note on my Facebook wall when I return (there won’t be much there, either).

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

One response to “First Love

  • jcallahan

    Certainly understand the need to set priorities and you obviously have a lot of things to take care of at the moment. We’ll all just have to look forward to your return performance. I hope that your studies going well.

    By the way, I’ve found that RSS Readers (I use Google’s) to be an excellent way to keep up with sites that aren’t updated very often. Even though I’m not visiting your site everyday, it will let me know when you do post again. If you haven’t tried out RSS readers, definitely check them out.

Leave a Reply

