A Hole in My Bucket

My people…have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water.” Jeremiah 2:13

There are a LOT of ordinary objects that Jesus uses to compare himself to that help us understand a bit of Who He is.  Bread, light, and water are my favorites.  (Yes, I know it’s not Jesus who’s doing the talking in the passage above, but you get the picture.)  I’ll get around to a post on light one of these days.

Let’s talk about water.  Water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink.  Do you ever feel like you are drowning in a sea of worries, to-do lists, responsibilities, and on and on.  And yet, like me, you know exactly where to find peace and comfort, but just can’t make the time to sit down and soak in the goodness of the Word?

This passage reminds me that my bucket has a hole in it, and I will never be able to plug that hole (it’s a bit like an oil well – when you think it’s plugged, there comes some seepage from another place).  And all the water is draining out of my bucket – and when that happens, I’ll die of thirst.  Can’t let that happen.

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.”  John 6:35

I’ve been a bit lost lately, not feeling the pull to gather with my church family each week, not wanting to sit down and let God speak to me, not really wanting to be part of the family/community God has made me part of.  Feeling rather dry, really.  Scary part: I haven’t cared.

But I can feel the moisture beginning to soak back in.  I’m feeling a twinge of the excitement of anticipating spending time with my God.  I’m getting thirsty again – and looking forward to that Water that will quench the thirst.

Father, forgive my feeble attempts at finding my own way.  You alone are able to fulfill my needs.  Search me, know me, and remove from me any offensive way that I might drink only from the Spring of Living Water.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

One response to “A Hole in My Bucket

  • Greg England

    While not denying we were created for community, even Jesus had to get away from that community now and then. I preached for 30 years, the last nearly 15 years was (for the most part) a very good experience. But I had to get away now and then. I happen to think God understands this far more than most of us church people! BUt I’m glad you’re moving back toward community.

Leave a Reply

