Quotable Advice

A few weeks ago WordPress had this announcement on their page that ‘advertised’ a new site/service called Plinky.  This is a service for those of us who think we like to write a blog, but really have nothing worthwhile to say.  Every day, they post a question that is intended to help us push through writer’s block, and find something to talk about.  I added Plinky to my RSS reader, and have been watching it, anxiously waiting for the inspiration.  And sometime last week, it came through – and I’m just now getting around to writing an answer.  Maybe it’s not writer’s block after all – just good old procrastination (of which I wear a size XL).

So the Plinky prompt from last week said:

What’s the best advice you ever received?

A day or so later, the prompt said:

What’s your favorite quote and why?

Wow.  I waited weeks for a good question I could answer, and now I get a two-for-one special.  My favorite quote is also some of the best advice I’ve ever received.  I don’t even know how long ago it was I came across this advice, but it was in a fortune cookie, which is still posted on my bulletin board (it’s been there at LEAST 10-12 years, maybe longer).

In line with the current “fortune” cookie trend to avoid telling fortunes, but dispensing advice, here is what mine said:

“Many opportunities are open to you.  Work a little harder.”

It turns out that I haven’t really worked all that hard (remember that procrastination thing?), but there have been more opportunities for me than I could have ever really imagined.  And they’re still coming at me.  It’s incredible to think what might have happened if I’d been a hard worker!

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

