Science/Math Humor?

Some time ago I came across a video of a stand-up science comic.  I don’t remember the website it was on, but I do remember one of the jokes someone posted in the comments.  There were several good ones – well, good if you are a science/math nerd.

There are lots of old gems out there.  Like the one about the two atoms that bumped into each other.  The first atom said to the second “Are you alright.”  The second atom said “No, I lost an electron.”  “Are you sure?” the first atom asked.  And the second atom said “Yes, I’m positive.”

So tonight while Whitney was studying radioactivity for her science class, she mentioned the half-life of iodine-131 is only eight days.  I asked that if that’s true, how can there be any left?  Debbie then asked “What is half-life.”  So while Whitney is explaining that, my (weird, twisted) mind was filled with what is an apparently old math joke that I read on the aforementioned website.

An infinite number of mathematicians walk into a bar.

The first one says “I’d like a beer, please.”

The second one says “I’d like half-a-beer.”

The third one says “I’d like a fourth of a beer.”

The fourth one says “I’d like an eighth of a beer.”

And the bartender says “I hate you guys,” then pours two beers.

While you are either rolling on the floor laughing, or scratching a hole in your head trying to figure that out, I’m going to search for that website (or help Debbie with the laundry).

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

2 responses to “Science/Math Humor?

Leave a Reply

