Dishwasher

So I had this job once as a dishwasher at Bonanza.  (Wow – I just Goggled that, and they are, in fact, still in business.  Who knew?)  Given that you are supposed to learn something from these experiences, this might rank right up there with the great experiences of life.  Don’t be lazy, never let up, and don’t trust people.

No wait.  Strike that last one.  Trust people, but recognize that not everyone is trustworthy.  Yeah.  Maybe that’s it.

While my primary role was to be the dishwasher, I was occasionally drafted into other roles, some of which did not go well and eventually got me fired (I think).  When I was told to mop the kitchen floor, I did.  I just didn’t put everything I had into it, and the boss was not impressed (surprisingly, after you mop, the floor is supposed to actually look clean).  So, I was pretty lazy and could have been accused of doing only what I had to to get by (and I use the past tense somewhat loosely, here).

Once, and only once, I was asked to work the dining room.  Briefly.  I don’t know how Bonanza works now, but this was when you went through the line and ordered your steak.  After it was cooked, someone (like me) would bring it to your table.  I was given two hamburgers to take to table 5.  I heard Table 9. The people at Table 9 had, in fact, ordered two hamburgers.  For the kids.  They weren’t happy that they didn’t get the rest of their food, that the burgers they got were not kids burgers, and the people who ordered adult burgers were not happy that it took so long to get theirs.  (So let that be a lesson to you, too, Mr. Restaurant Manager – don’t send the dishwasher kid out into the dining room.)  And when I was trying to help a little girl with a coke refill, apparently the manager thought I was being rude and decided I didn’t belong.

The official reason I was fired – the reason I was given – was that my language was inappropriate.  Admittedly, I did use some inappropriate language back in the kitchen – which was pretty much in line with the general conversation everyone else used back there.  What I really know is that I was a slacker.  So why couldn’t the manager just tell me that?

Regardless of why she couldn’t be straight with me, I learned that when you are a slacker, people notice.  I know when I’m not doing my best, and I know that other people know, too.  (I almost lost another job before I actually learned this lesson.)

Oh.  And one more thing.  100% polyester shirts are not only very uncomfortable, they absorb all those kitchen odors and smell really nasty by the end of the shift.

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

