How Will I Testify?

They all shouted, “So, are you claiming to be the Son of God?” And he replied, “You say that I am.” “Why do we need other witnesses?” they said. “We ourselves heard him say it.” (Luke 22:70-71)

I will probably never stand in a formal court to answer for my faith. But, as I read the account of Jesus before the Sanhedrin court, I am reminded that I have the opportunity to stand in the court of public perception every single day to stand up and say “I AM HIS.”

How will I testify…

  • when I am cut off in traffic? Do I respond by tailgaiting, flashing my headlights, waving a fist, or maybe even a little sign language?
  • when a cashier is rude and impatient with me?  Do I respond in kind?
  • when I am tempted to engage in gossip? (Do I even recognize gossip when I hear it? It’s pretty subtle sometimes.)
  • when someone frustrates me by disrespecting my schedule or my plans?
  • when someone else takes credit for my work, or blames me for their mistakes?
  • when I am called out for my own mistakes and sin?
  • when I am tempted to spend time on Facebook (or WordPress) instead of with my family or my Lord and His Word?
  • when I am tempted by my own private sin (and the temptation to avoid confessing that sin in public)?
  • when someone challenges my tradition and my theology?
  • to people who openly and proudly engage in coarse talk and sinful lifestyles?
  • to people in need of prayer or encouragement or physical help or financial assistance?

Does my life testify that I have been filled with love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control?

In the court of public perception, will I be found guilty of following my Savior’s example and proudly proclaiming His message?

Does my testimony say “I am His”?

Will the court say “Why do we need other witnesses? We ourselves heard him say it.”?

About Joe

Writing on the things I'm passionate about: my family, my faith, and my work. View all posts by Joe

Leave a Reply

